A Lesson In Gratitude

man-cave-logo
BinnsCagneyDesignCo

 

Associate Head Coach Robin Wright-Thurnley’s take on sex,marriage and relationships

I’ve just celebrated my wedding anniversary by taking my Wife on vacation, no expense spared, and have been indulging in rich savoury foods and champagne.

I felt wonderful, happy, elated for about a week and then the pain started. I ignored it, and continued to enjoy my temporary lavish lifestyle.

It quickly turned to anguish when I was forced to admit I was in agony, and my Wife insisted that we flew to a hospital where I was admitted immediately for treatment.

My appendix had become inflamed and was about to burst. I would have died, had my Wife not insisted that we seek serious medical treatment.

I woke up in the recovery room after the surgery feeling foolish, and couldn’t meet my Wife’s eyes at first through embarrassment, but when she kissed me, I felt the shame melt away.

I’ll always feel an immense sense of gratitude towards her for this one noble act; I am stubborn. and that stubbornness could have deprived me of the wonderful life I have with the love of my life, my darling Wife.

The lesson for me was not to ignore my pain, but to accept that sometimes you have to admit you are infallible. I would love to be the tough guy who can ride out pain and continue regardless of any injury but my illness came at a time when I was already recovering from minor surgery, which we suspected had resulted in an infection but this was ruled out.

And my wonderful Wife could easily have said ‘I told you so’ and chided me for being reluctant to seek medical attention but she took the surprising route of holding my hand and coaxing me back to life after surgery.

Thanks to her steadfastness and quick thinking we’ll celebrate many more wedding anniversaries together, minus my appendix; and I will be forever grateful for her.

About Robin Wright-Thurnley

Robin is an Associate Coach at Phoenix Relationship Coaching where he guides men towards achieving their dreams of lasting love.

 

